First real day of vacation!   Leave a comment

We don’t count yesterday as it was a holiday. Which means it will be a really short vacation week, but that is OK.  We have our lists and are moving through the things.  Today?

Well, today we started with a nice breakfast, then with the help of sister-in-law L, we brought in and stacked a ton of pellets.  Probably will do another ton after payday, but we are in good shape for the winter.  Then we had some crepes for a snack, and A and L hauled some junk for Thursday’s dump run around to the front of the house while I did the dishes.  Once the chores were done, we went off on an exploration.

We drove through Stockton Springs all the time, but never have been down to Sandy Point Beach.  today we did – it is so cute!  lovely neighborhood,  and a quiet beach.  Something about a post-Labor Day beach that I love – golden rod, yellow grass.  No people.  I’ll be checking it out on warm Fridays and again next year.

Then we went down to Fort Point state park – another place we drive by.  We wandered through the woods for a bit, then out on the pier – watched the ducks and seals swimming about.  And watched the sun disappear…Isaac is sending us rain today and tomorrow.  I guess we need it, but I would prefer that we got it at night or next week.

After all the exploring and walking, we were hungry, so stopped at the Good Kettle for lunch – I have had their yummy locally sourced food before but a and L had not been there, so we relaxed and enjoyed delicious sandwiches before heading home.

Then it was back to the chore list – mail and hardware store.  Found out that our PO will be a victim of downsizing – by the end of 2014 it will be a satellite office of the larger Bucksport PO.  Not great news.  Hours will be so limited that we might not be able to keep our PO box there.  I will be seriously bummed if we have to change our address. Postmistress is seriously bummed that she has to either take a 50% pay cut or relocate.

At the hardware store I got the last (I think!) supplies for the roman shades – eyelets and nylon cord. It’s on my chore list to get them up this week – and now I think I have everything I need to do it. I’ll take photos and post them when they are up.

Also on my list in the craft room – to install the countertop in the alcove, for the sewing machine.  It was delivered yesterday, and A hauled it upstairs while I slept peacefully on the couch unaware… can’t wait to get that in… I won’t have the cabinet for under it built yet, that is a long way off, but I can use cleats to get it in place so it is usable.

Ahh, the  list is so long, and the week will be short.  Good tomorrow is a rainy day, so sailing got moved to Friday… maybe I will get all the inside chores done…

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

