If I were counting down…   Leave a comment

I would be down to point five!  Vacation in less than a full day of work!!  It is another stay-cation, and that is fine. I feel so stressed out that I can hardly stand it.  I need some down time to putter. And they promise absolutely fabulous weather until Tuesday when we get the remnants of Isaac. 

I watch the news and listen to the radio, and I think that I am so lucky to live here in the very northest and eastest of the country – we have had a fabulous summer, weather wise.  Maybe not enough rain, but certainly not a drought. Not hot.  A little muggy at times (OK, OK a LOT muggy, and I do hate that), but nothing like the rest of the country has had to deal with.  And now, when all eyes are on the tropics and the Gulf – we are having clear dry days and nights in the 40’s. I know to count this blessing, that is for sure.

Other blessings to count?  I have a job.  Yes, it is stressful these days, and the new work is not always fun, BUT it is a job, it pays well, it has great benefits, including  4 day work weeks and lots of vacation. Count it.

I live in a beautiful house on a nice piece of land with neighbors who are friendly and quiet and not too close. Count it.

My family is close enough now where I can get to see most of them in a day trip, easily.  Count it.

Nieces are arriving tomorrow night for a quick visit, but B is staying for 5 years right up the road at college.  Count it.

My kittens are cute and cuddly and playful, and on chilly nights, cuddly.  Count it.

A is the best partner a woman could wish for – fun and patient and supportive and loving, and she doesn’t mind vacuuming!! Count it multiple times.

Counting down and adding up – it helps keep me sane. Lots to be thankful for, and only one more day to get through before I have a ten-day break (which only draws down 3 vacation days, gotta love Fridays off and holidays!) I can do it. I can get there.

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

