There must be a thief around here

Because someone stole July, and maybe June, too!  I can’t believe how fast the summer is going.  I keep a 2 month white board calendar in my office, and I updated it today.  It now goes to OCTOBER.  That is just wrong.

So anyway, that’s what I am thinking about. Here is what I am doing.  Writing my blog.

Oh, OK, here’s what I did.  🙂

This weekend was a nice one, although, as usual, too short.  However, given what a hideous week last week was at work – way too emotional – the down time was exactly what was needed.  I actually went to work for a bit, but then headed over to Down East AIDS Network for some more training so that someday they will trust me alone in the office. I think I am getting comfortable with their walk-in programs, and I got to spend some serious time cleaning a database.  I know that liking to do that type of thing makes some people think I am strange, but they are wrong.  I like it that it takes a little bit of deductive reasoning, some real skill with a mouse and google, and not much other brain power. It’s relaxing.  I followed this scintillating work up with a trip to the grocery store, then home to… you must know… if you have been reading anything I posted ever… you know that I…

Went in the pool!!!! Oh, how I love my little, shallow piece of paradise.  I skimmed the bugs and leaves, swam a bit and then – heaven – lay on my float, sipping iced tea and reading my book until I FELL ASLEEP and eventually woke up because I was COLD.  It was heavenly.  Simple pleasures, I know.

Saturday, A and I took our bikes over to the Down East Sunrise trail, and rode for a couple of miles, but it was hot and buggy, so we left, and went to the farmers market instead.  Iw as looking for blackberries – next week, they say, so I got a whoopie pie and some garlic to tide me over.  We stopped at the hardware store on the way home to get a few odds and ends that can only be found at the Bucksport true Value – they truly have everything except food.  Ran into one of my very favorite ex-bosses, and so hung out in the parking lot chatting for a bit.  Then home to vacuum the pool before floating.  No sleeping this time – chores to do, Olympics to watch.

A did some household chores and played with the kittens (she thinks I am fooled that this is a chore) while I worked away in the craft room (and I think I have her fooled that this is work.)  I am slowly but steadily plugging away at the roman shades for that room – got all the tapes sewn on – now have to hand sew the rings.  Then, I think I do a little hemming and we are ready for tools.

Two sisters-in-law came over Saturday late in the afternoon, and we saw L’s photos from her trip to S Korea and the Philipines.  It looked beautiful and interesting, but she kept telling us what she ate (things like squid, gag me!) and so I think I will stick with looking at photos rather than going there.  Unless they have PB and J to get me through it.

Sunday A made tons of strawberry jam and jelly with all the berries we had frozen a few weeks ago, while I did my usual chores of pool skimming and crafting.  Honestly, though, I did go to the dump and back to the hardware store for more jelly jars… then we watched Olympics until bedtime.

Like I said – low-key, too short, and just exactly what I needed to face this week on an even keel. Gotta love the weekend.

Leave a comment

Yarn Harlot

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Boogie's Blog

Spin, Knit, Weave, Crochet, Cook, Garden, Preserve, Hobby Farming, and so much more.

My Time Stitching

And whatever else I have been up to...

olddogsnewtruck

putting down roots in Maine

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Compassionknit.com

Where we knit with a passion

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

Blog Rss

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Mulch and More Crafts

Arts, Crafts, Custom Works, From primarily sustainable resources.

Proper Tension

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Fernwood Nursery & Gardens

Maine's Shadiest Nursery

KT's Slow Closet

Knitting ideas, inspiration and free patterns, plus crochet, weaving, and more

Dartmoor Creative - Bekki Hill

a creative life on Dartmoor

Words and Stitches

woolgathering at its best

V-Lo's View

Every day ramblings about my day, my dog, my friends, my house and my garden.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

Verily Knits

Designs by Claire Slade