Black friday   Leave a comment

biggest shopping day of the year, and I am staying home. I think this day was meant to lay low, wash dishes, shovel snow, knit, make cards…anyone out there agree? I saw the mob scene at some mall in California on the news this morning. There is just no way I would go through that.Save money? I think it is worth the extra money to shop in peace on a different day! But I also think it is more fun to make my presents, not buy plastic stuff made in China.

So. A is coming along. Had a surgeon appointment on Wednesday – yes, we went out to Ellsworth in the middle of a snow storm – driving was slow but OK. Getting home again was a nightmare – used a whole box of cat litter to get up the driveway. Then there was figuring out how to get her in the house. Remember, last time was tough, and it was a nice day. So anyway, she got to the top of the porch, and hitched herself in on her butt… all the way to the living room. We got her up one the couch, where she rested for quite a while before we stood her up for the trip to bed. The good news is that the surgeon said the ankle looks fine, and gave her the boot cast. It is painful to get on, but it does protect her foot. In another month or so, she can put a little weight on it. Meanwhile he is OK with her driving, if she can do it (the boot has to be clear of the brake 🙂 )and showering – huzzah!

So we had much to be thankful for yesterday. It was a really nice day – as it always does, the potluck feast worked out fine, we had vegetables, potatoes, stuffing, fruit, cider to go with the turkey I cooked. And a huge array of desserts and coffees to match. I think everyone found something to eat. Even niece E who said “I don’t want turkey!” managed a plate full of food. Her reward? Dessert – “I want a tiny piece of everything” and her mom gave her enough tiny pieces to have her thinking it was. She played out in the snow with Sammy until he was bored and she was cold. Then she played cards with the H clan – she loved having kids to play with and climb on. And a patient T to teach her the game. Mom and B came early and helped with all sorts of little and big jobs – like entertaining A, and shoveling a better path, and keeping the cook company while she finished up things. And B agreed to help us out by building a ramp for the back steps! OMG, that will make it so much easier to get A in and out of the house. Because she is determined to go to work….

So this week was a crazy jumble of sitting doing nothing, racing around cleaning, decorating, serving. But I did find time to do some knitting, and we spent a day with a friend working on building the Christmas cards. I think the trouble with designing them in the summer is that it doesn’t matter that there are like 4200 steps… but at the end of the day, there are 12 completed cards, the plan doesn’t seem like such a good one. 🙂 Still we did have the steps to another dozen in progress, so I think I will stick with this plan for most of my cards. I do have another planned card for this year that might only be 10-12 steps, so pretty soon I will switch over to that one. The trouble is, I like glitter, and it takes forever to dry. 🙂

Today is a lay low day, maybe make some cards… definitely scrub some pots, put some dishes away. Take the extra leaves out of the table, put the folding chairs back in the basement, keep the folding tables up for crafts. Even though I have a beautiful craft room, it seems that the Christmas cards get made in the living room, since they take such a major chunk of time. And I already did my one definite black friday tradition – got the Christmas dishes out and put the everyday ones away. I love using them, and so I get them out this day every year. I’ll keep them out until Epiphany, and love seeing their cheerful holiday design every day. Happy holidays!!

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

