birthday weekend in St Andrews by the Sea   Leave a comment

St Andrews is one of my favorite places to visit – but amazingly, I have never stayed there over night, just always made the mad dash up, shopped and driven home.

Well those days are OVER! A and I found the cutest little place to stay – Seaside Beach Resort – catchy name, right? (www.seaside.nb.ca) It is just outside of town, at the edge of the historic district.  The proprietor has restored a whole compound of houses and barns and built little cottages – all with pine interiors, very compact, but with all amenities.   If I had to guess, I would say there are boats in his background.  And yes, that is a guess.  But beyond really cute little cottagey apartments and cabins, there is a huge expanse of green lawn, new and mature plantings and trees, decks that go right down to the water (OK, at high tide.  To the beach the rest of the time) and the world’s most comfortable wooden chairs and tables along a short board walk.  And it is all in the prettiest seaside town with the nicest shops and restaurants.  By my reckoning, anyway.

Best part?  Cottage craft yarn store is still there, still unbelievably underpriced, AND there is a brand new scrapbooking store directly across the street from the cottages.  Yes, I was in heaven! I got yarn to make a sweater – 100% wool.  $35 american.  I don’t know if he did the exchange rate backwards or WHAT, but I paid the money and took the yarn. Scrapbooking store was totally a surprise, and thus, unfunded.  A gave me all the Canadian money we got back from an ice cream purchase, and I made that $13.50 go FAR.  The young woman running the place just opened it in December, and she already had a sale bin – yes! It is a nice bright room over her garage, not a huge selection, but good variety of items.  Lots I wanted.  Made me wish we had paid for the ice cream with a $50 or something. (http://hendersonscrapbookingcompany.blogspot.com/)

And the sun was shining on Saturday, we did all the retail therapy we wanted, had a good lunch at the Gables restaurant on their wonderful shady deck,  checked in to the “resort” and sat on the board walk reading for a few hours.  There was a heavenly breeze, so not hot, no bugs.  Had a supper of snacks in our little cottage, and flaked out early.  But not before we walked on th beach, tried the water (too cold to swim in, even for me) found lots of sea glass, but only clam shells, and scoped out all the empty units. Some of the floor plans are strange, but clearly the place was designed to meet the needs of travelers with families who love the shore. Today we were going to sit and have breakfast on the board walk before heading out, but awoke to low clouds and the threat of rain, so after a walk around town early,  we ate a restaurant (the Chef’s Special) and then headed out.  No sweat returning to the US – new border crossing very smooth, easy to navigate, pleasant border patrol guy. He even let me keep the pumpkin seeds I forgot I had with me (bought in the US, never taken out of the package, but still not allowed!)

I have already warned A we are going back, and thought about how I would keep her entertained if we went for more than one day.  Of course, I think there is plenty to do, but we might have to bring a bike and a couple of kayaks!

The best part of all this?  Low season rates apply until 6/15 (they come back into effect after Labor Day, too!), so we got it all at a discount.  Exchange rate isn’t great, but even so, it wasn’t that expensive a trip.  Gotta love it!

Posted June 12, 2011 by salpal1 in how I spent my day

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

