Monday – on vacation!   Leave a comment

And what an exciting vacation it is. Among other things, today I took a car load of trash to the transfer station. It felt pretty good to have more recycling than garbage… and to get rid a full carload of junk from the house!  Of course, I also got cranky mad at seeing corrugated cardboard in the garbage pit, and also in the non-corrugated bin, but that was just the old lady Bannerman sneaking out of me. How lazy/uncaring are people?  The corrugated bin is perhaps ten feet from the garbage pit…

Took the blind cat out for a couple of walks.  She really enjoys it, although I think it confuses her to be out there and smell things but wonder where, exactly, the yard went?

A and I took another step into the digital age – got an MP3 player.  Found it especially confusing and annoying (old lady Bannerman again, I know) to figure out how to get things from iTunes onto it, as it is not an iPod.  But with the help of online chat, we got through that, and now have lots of strange tunes on this cute little tiny thing…. had lots of fun on iTunes finding the songs of our youth.  Didn’t buy them all, just gave each other a glimpse into our past lives.  We did buy some Joan Jett and Jackson Browne and Marvin Gaye…reliving the 70’s and 80’s through iTunes!  We will load many of our CDs (which number in the thousands and are as eclectic as it is possible to be, I think.  Seriously, I have a drawer labeled “1680 through 1970.”) onto the computer to load onto this thing.  I expect it will be full the next time we have a rainy day.  🙂

A cleaned up the basement, and hopes to start cutting wood Sunday.  We had hoped to start today, but we had to figure out how to position things so that we could run an 8 foot sheet of plywood through the table saw.  That means at least 18 feet of space – not as easy as it sounds, but we did it.  Honestly, someday soon, I will be posting pictures of our new bed!

Rolled our loose change because we could.  130 dollars to be spent however we want!  My half went into the yarn fund, and A used hers (along with her birthday money) to buy the mp3 player, a shop vac for the basement, and sunglasses.  I found the combination interesting, but I am sure she finds the yarn obsession interesting as well. I am amazed that we can acquire so much money simply by putting our loose change in the jar each night, and putting the bottle money there every week. It’s money we otherwise would spend and not even notice it, but this way, we get a special guilt free treat every few months. And I know there is no other way we would be fine with spending $65 on yarn.  But when I get to that Fiber Frolic, I will have permission to get whatever I want with that cash.  Some Maine farmer will be glad.  🙂

Tomorrow I just have to remember to leave by 11:30 to get to Bangor to meet a bypass surgery friend so we can celebrate our 1 year anniversary together.  I thought we would go thrift store shopping together, but she will have her husband with her, so we will just gab.  Maybe I will go shopping afterwards.  Or maybe just come home and play in the craft room, which I did not do today as planned. I’ll let you know.

Meanwhile I am enjoying listening to Otis sing Sitting on the Dock of the Bay.  It has been a long time.

Posted April 25, 2011 by salpal1 in how I spent my day

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

