finished!   Leave a comment

A gave me a gift certificate to the bead store in Brewer for Christmas, and I had fun shopping for beads to make a necklace  and earrings.  But then I didn’t ever find time to make it.  But yesterday (instead of napping), I dug out my beading things and made them.  And, I think I have enough beads to make a bracelet to match as well, although my patience ran out.  Hard to bead with a cat on my lap!

I also started my third pair of fingerless mitts yesterday – I am having fun modifying the pattern C shared with me.  The first pair was for Amy, the second was for me, but a woman at work really liked them, so I gave them to her.  Now I am making a pair that I think will be for me.  We will see! (C –  I knit them flat instead of round, and knit two at once, knitting from each end of the ball.  Then, I seam them, leaving a hole for the thumb – that way they are the same length, and I am not fighting the small round thing and all the double-pointed needles.)

C shared the minimalist knitter blog with me some time ago, and I have been following Robyn’s knitting adventures.  One thing she has inspired me to do is REDUCE the stash.  Scary.  So I have sorted out all the yarn, put it in clear totes so I can see what I have, and one of those totes is for bits and pieces and leftovers that I won’t use for me.  Then I made a commitment to myself, that I will knit one thing from the scrap bin for everything I knit from the other bins.  And the scrap bin things are for charity. I was knitting for the Nest Maine project, and I probably will (another blog from C) but the first batch of things I gave to the coats project at work, as they are all out of hats and scarves and need to begin stockpiling for next winter.  Which I don’t even want to think about!  By making these mitts for me, I am sort of cheating, although I did give away the last pair, does that count as charity knitting?  Not sure.  I’ll make two hats from the bin when I finish these.  Those hats come out funny, as I make them stripes with variety of yarns in crazy colors.  So if you see folks on the streets of Maine next winter in wild hand knit hats, blame me.

Lots accomplished over the last couple of days – A and I did ALL the errands this morning so that we don’t have to go out again this weekend, my favorite kind of weekend!  Then we came home and moved the 14 sheets of plywood EBS delivered to the front yard yesterday.  I wore my pedometer for that effort – 3000 plus steps to haul it all around the house and into the cellar – more than a mile!  That’s for A’s creative project – building us a captain’s bed.  She will start cutting the wood tomorrow, maybe.  First, of course, there are a few projects to do in prep.  She wants to build two small tables the same height as the table saw to support the wood as she cuts it.  I am all in favor of that, otherwise, I have to stand there for hours while she cuts.  Kinda boring.  But I am looking forward to the bed being done, so whatever it takes, I will do.

We are also designing our headboard – it will be a work of art! Solid, so we can lean against it, with drawers that pull out of the side instead of bedside tables – so we can slide the clutter away during the day.  And we hope to be able to mount our reading lights right to the headboard, with outlets behind.  Very complicated sounding, I know, but I think it will work… and when all is said and done, it will be very self-contained and clutter free.

Posted April 17, 2011 by salpal1 in how I spent my day, how it came out, what I am making

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

