WordPress, you are getting on my nerves. I will find a way to comment!   24 comments

First you won’t let me post. When I get around that (thanks, MaryAnne!) you decide not to let me comment on posts. I can reply to my comments but not start any original comments.

So, let me just say this –

Kathryn Rubidoux – You stay safe – don’t rule out any option when it comes to lining up housing for yourself. Keep that blog open, and update it when you can, use the library or whatever resources you come across, but don’t give up on it, we do care about what happens to you and Liz. If the social worker doesn’t come up with anything, reach out to your local Domestic Violence prevention project, even if DV is not your issue, they will be able to point you toward other resources.

Some Daft Thoughts that is a powerful post, great response to a cad. glad you have unfriended him everywhere. I have not experienced that depression you experienced, but even without that, I knew enough to simply be sad that Robin Williams could not get the help he needed. To me, from out here, it seemed as if he never could align the love everyone had for his external self with the way he felt about his internal self. And as you say, if you get caught in that downward spiral soon, there is no option left. I am so glad that you did not go the same way he did, and you left me wondering – what helped you change things for yourself?

Now, on a happier note – Claire – I am loving the tales of your holiday – Malta looks intriguing – and that pool – ! I would have a hard time leaving it. Love the post to all the “serious” travelers!

And all of you who are posting about your knitting, crocheting, papercrafts and sewing – I love it all and think you are doing a great job. :-)

Now, WordPress, please fix it so I can click on comment and actually comment, instead of writing a ton and then having you say “Sorry, could not post this comment.” it’s just plain rude.

Posted August 16, 2014 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about

Tagged with ,

24 responses to “WordPress, you are getting on my nerves. I will find a way to comment!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think what helped me most was understanding what was wrong with me. When you’re stuck in depression, everything feels like it’s your fault. You brought it onto yourself, you’re not strong enough, you’re lazy, you’re not worthy of happiness etc. I went to see a psychologist because I got genuinely scared by my suicidal thoughts. My brain was pushing me into that direction but the rest of my mind and heart weren’t ready to submit to the disease. Like I said, I had moments where I saw clearly, where my friends’ love penetrated the haze in my head and allowed me to breathe.

    My psychologists explained to me how depression works and it helped me shift my perspective. I understood and acknowledged it WASN’T my fault. I got tips and exercises that helped my brain escape from the spiral. I started confiding in friends and explained what was up with me. I talked excessively, partially through blogging. Expelling my bad feelings to anonymous people was a way to unload negative energy. It’s like throwing up when you feel really sick and then you feel a bit better for a while, even if you get sick again later at that moment your stomach feels better.

    I had my ups and downs. I still do.Mid 2013 I started knitting and exactly a year ago I got together with my boyfriend too. I think these two things are what saved my life, or at least are the greatest contributors. My boyfriend didn’t question me, or try to fix me, or blamed me. He just let me explain and accepted it and treated me normally. He makes sure I know I’m loved and that I can talk to him without being judged. Not fearing to be rejected or ridiculed is possibly the greatest gift you can find in another human being when you’re struggling with this.

    Knitting gave me a sense of accomplishment. It’s easy to learn on your own especially with Youtube, and for the first time in a long time I didn’t feel like I couldn’t do anything. I’m knitting more difficult projects all the time, putting the bar higher, and I never feel like I fail. To me, knitting is a matter of “when can I do this?” as opposed to “can I do this at all?”. Finishing a dishcloth makes me feel like I can do and finish other things in my life too. Basically, I’m always a winner when I knit, and that mindset is SO INCREDIBLY IMPORTANT when you question your value in life.

    I also think that the act of knitting releases chemicals in the brain that stimulate feeling good, just like exercising does. The repetitive motions and being wholly focused on your project allow for little room to panic or dwell on bad thoughts, so it gives you a breather too.

    I think if I hadn’t had my boyfriend or my knitting, I might not be here today. They helped me see my illness for what it is. I will probably never be cured from it, but I have learned to manage it, and I hope that I will have many clear moments in my future that kick my depression in the face.

    • oh, I am so glad you were able to seek the help you needed – that the fright overcame the inertia caused by depression. And great to hear you ahve a boyfriend who gives you such loving support! knitting, of course, cures all ills. Except, perhaps, carpal tunnel. Thanks for the quick and open repsonse, I appreciate it. Your post was very powerful to me. Maybe some good will come from Robin Williams death, if it gets people talking and writing and understanding more about depression, if it helps one person get help. I can only hope.

      • I’m really glad it made such an impact! Honestly, that’s why I wrote it. it’s disturbing to me how people label depression and suicide when my first hand experiences with it are relatively dramatic and quite the opposite of what they claim. It makes me angry. I was afraid to speak up for so long because I feared of being dismissed and not taken seriously because of those attitudes, and I can’t even imagine how many people end up sinking so deep into this disease because they never reach out for the same reasons.

        Thank you too for sharing my post on your blog, even if it stems from a broken comment system!

  2. Perhaps there’s some help in the forums or support area to get you back commenting again…

  3. Oh! I’m also a bit of an IT nut, I may be able to help you with your commenting issue. Can you tell me what browser you’re using (Internet Explorer, Chrome, Firefox, something else)? Are you on a computer or on a tablet or phone? Do you get any error messages when you click on Comment? Does anything else happen?

    • I use Internet explorer, and as to what is happening now, no, no error message until I hit post. I have had a similar issue recently, where when I go to comment, it wants me to log into my account. I do, the comment won’t post. But today, they just aren’t posting at all. Any help would be appreciated.

      • Internet Explorer is notorious for having a lot of issues with sites. It basically interprets a site in its own way and not according to official standards, which creates issues. Basically when the site says “Display an apple” and IE says “No! I’ll display a pear!”. Does that make sense?

        I know you’re probably really used to IE but I recommend you try a different browser. Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome are much better with following the rules and display what they’re being asked to display. If you keep having issues it might be worth a switch.

        IE is a nightmare for web designers and developers because it’s so unreliable, so I’m personally not fond of it. I use Chrome personally. If you switch you may need some time to get used to the new interface. If you have problems finding things, feel free to get in touch with me, I can help you out!

  4. Thanks! I will! And you and A should definitely plan a trip sometime. I think you’d love the old buildings.

  5. Try opening wordpress in a different browser and see if it acts differently.

  6. I’ve only had this issue with one blog recently where I couldn’t comment via the WP app. He would respond to my comments night they can’t be retrieved. The retrieval issue happened with another blog but I think that’s cuz I’m not a follower. In regards to the other WP blog, I had to add him via Bloglovin.

  7. Frustrating indeed. Hope you get sorted soon. All the best. :-) Have you tried changing to Google Chrome? It seems to work better for me at least.

  8. I had a wildly infuriating evening, hammering away obsessively at trying to insert photo’s in a blog…Internet Explorer says NO! I eventually switched to Mozilla Firefox, and all is sweet! I’m being dragged, kicking and screaming, into the 21st century!

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Winged Knits

Cecily Glowik MacDonald

The Crafty Yuppie

part-time arsty with a side of sass

knitstringsblog

handknit warmth

prettycolorful

Original Cards and Quilts

this girl has knits

a life and love of craft

Squarebird 2014 Craft A Day

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Cusser Knits

...and spins, and sometimes cooks.

yarnandpointysticks

knitting and other things

letters and purls

A life of reading, writing, knitting, and eating

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

The Contented Crafter

A blog containing random thoughts, creations from my craft room and tales about a cat called Orlando and a puppy called Siddy

Twisted Stitcher

...random thoughts and a little progressive politics from a retired nana knitter

Words and Stitches

woolgathering at its best

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

home is what you make it

a blog inspired by real life

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Crafting the Good Life

One girl's mission to create more and consume less.

weestorybook

recording creative ideas, adventures and finds

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

