Weekend Update   4 comments

bird feeder and squirrel
The view from the couch – not that I spent a lot of time on the couch this weekend – yea! When I cleaned out the bird feeder the other day, I dumped the old seed out on the railing, thinking the mourning doves would like that. Don’t know if they do or not, but this fellow joined the chickadees. He spent some time trying to break into the suet and the feeder (unsuccessfully), but finally went with the low hanging fruit.
meanwhile, Zumba
Meanwhile, Zumba kept a close watch on him. Not sure what she would have done if I let her out, but I suspect he would have survived.

… Yesterday was planned to be a typical Saturday with some chores, some crafts, some Olympics. But a call in the morning from our dear friend B (aka Crimson Crow) changed that, and we met her for a late breakfast at the Riverside Cafe in Ellsworth, then she came over for a visit, to see what’s new here and play some games. It is always good to see her. And as she follows this blog, she and A were teasing me about it, and why I think anyone cares what I do each day. I am not sure why you all do, but I am glad you do! But as promised, B, you are featured here again. And you didn’t even have to rescue me from a dead snake.

Knitting progress –

The light still wasn’t great Friday, but it was on my list, so I took some photos. Zumba helped, as you can see. Here is the vest in progress, and the completed pair 3 of Socks with Sarah. Pair number 4 is in progress, but I frogged what I did last week, and redid it in a smaller size. The yarn, Cascade Heritage, was a lot looser than the Tosh Sock. I am quite happy with the new size now, and have made good progress, just turned the first sock heel. Only 48 stitches in a row – they fly!

lopi vest

sws #3 complete with Zumba

Today I spent some time up in the craft room with Allie and blue paint while A vacuumed (we all have our chores, hee hee hee). I am playing with a tray I want to do in a mosaic tile/sea glass. I keep changing my mind about it, so mostly I just keep painting it. :-)

I also am thinking about a few more of the collage pieces like I did this summer with niece C. I like how mine came out, and I wonder if they would make nice gifts? I need a housewarming gift for my brother this spring, and so am toying with what that would look like. Also, spring birthday season is nearly upon us, so I need to make a pile of birthday cards.

Last chore up there was to start the clearing/cleaning/organizing. I made a tiny bit of progress today – got the last of the Christmas card rubble cleaned up. :-) I know it will be slow progress, because it is overwhelming, and I don’t have systems in place for everything, which is why it looks like it does. I need to really see what is there and create the organizational systems to deal with it. But as I clean, I get distracted, because I find things I want to work on.

4 responses to “Weekend Update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am so jealous I love watching squirrels, Zumba certainly looks entertained, it was wise to not let Zumba out as I have heard the squirrels can really hurt cats

    • It was fun to watch the “Show” Zumba (and Allie and Tigger) never go out – they get the occasional mouse in the cellar, but that is the extent of their wildlife hunting. Tigger was an outdoor cat with her previous owner, so she would love to get out there and hunt, but we love her too much to let her. Zumba also got excited and tried to get out to stalk two rottwielers that came through the yard yesterday. Her instincts aren’t good, I guess!

  2. Love the socks and vest.

Leave a Reply

Chrissie Crochets

when she's not knitting

the twisted yarn

Knitting and crochet for a home in need of colour.

Each One Thrives

Observations and suggestions on living and learning with kids

Sew Sensational ♥

the sewing blog of a budding seamstress - follow me as I slowly cover my home, life, family and friends in soft furnishings!

rainbows & Sparkles

www.rainbowsparklescrafts.com

Logan's Stitching Blog

I cannot count my day complete, 'Til needle, thread and fabric meet. ~ Author Unknown

life with a side of awesome

A traveler and an ambassador of fun.

Phoenix Restoration

Furniture by Christina

Elevator Music

What happens in between life's BIG moments. Because beautiful things happen while heading towards the big things while you're in-between floors listening to elevator music.

The Cobweborium Emporium ™

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ™

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

sparklyshoesarefaster

Follow me on twitter @sparklyshoe

Paper Crafts by Laurel

Crafter, Creator of the Lawnscaping Challenge Blog

Deep Fried Yankee

Serving as a warning to others since 1973.

Katzenworld

All about (our) cats. Food, toys and other cat related products

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

The Textured Knitter

Experiments in knitting design, with occasional breaks for food.

Life Is a Damn Circus

...And We Are The Circus Acts

Cheese n Chalk

The everyday ramblings of twins

Celia Fitzgerald

"As every thread of gold is valuable, so is every moment in time." - John Mason

myrainbowtravel

The blog of a french storyteller, a polish photography lover and a world adventurer, Christina Czubak.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

